Hardwood increases your homes value and marketability.  Simply put you can not go wrong with selecting hardwood as your flooring choice.

We offer installations on  pre-finished  and site-finished hardwood, in the following types of construction: Solid, Engineered, and Floating. In addition to our installation services we also refinish hardwood floors.

We know that any home improvement project can be messy. The biggest issue with installation of a site finished floor or refinishing is excessive dust. GoodHouse Flooring uses a Dustless Sanding Technology so that you do not have to deal with the large volume of dust that accumulates during finishing.

At GoodHouse Flooring, we are hardwood flooring experts, we think it is important to share these important qualities about hardwood floors. It will help you to make the best decision in selecting a new hardwood floor for your home.

Hardwood floors options:

Is constructed from 100% hardwood milled from lumber.   Solid hardwood floors are available in many different wood species.  It is a natural material that reacts to changes in its environment over time, such as extreme temperatures and moisture.  Solid hardwood can be sanded and refinished if needed.


Is constructed from multiple layers of wood that are glued together, resulting in a strong and durable product.  The top layer is the decorative wood and the bottom layers are often composed of less expensive, stronger wood layers.  Engineered flooring holds up better to changing environmental conditions than solid hardwood. Most engineered wood is pre-finished.


Comes from the factory already finished.  Meaning the floor has already been coated with finish and does not have to be sanded and finished on-site.  Pre-finished floors can often be installed in one day.  If you are trying to match your new floor to an existing hardwood floor in your home pre-finished may not be the best option.

GoodHouse Flooring Design Center is proud to carry the following hardwood brands:

The Janka scale:

The Janka scale is often referred to as the "wood hardness scale"; it ranks hardwood species by the hardness of the wood.  The scale is a result of the Janka hardness test which measures the hardness of wood. The Janka test measures the force required to embed an 0.444 inch steel ball into wood to half the ball's diameter, leaving an indentation.  This test is a good measurement technique to determine the ability of a type of wood to withstand denting and wear.

JANKA RATING  WOOD SPECIES  (Hardest to Softest)
3684 Brazilian Walnut /Ipe
3220 Ebony
2350 Brazilian Cherry /Jatoba
2345 Mesquite
2200 Santos Mahogany
1940 Cameron
1925 Merbau
1860 Purpleheart
1850 Tigerwood
1820 Hickory and Pecan
1780 Rosewood
1725 African Padauk
1700 Locust
1630 Wenge
1630 Red Pine
1575 Zebrawood
1570 True Pine
1470 Sweet Birch
1450 Hard / Sugar Maple
1390 Kentucky Coffee Tree
1380 Natural Bamboo
1375 Australian Cypress
1360 White Oak
1320 White Ash 
1300 American Beech
1290 Northern Red Oak 
1280 Caribbean Heart Pine
1260 Yellow Birch
 1225 Yellow Heart Pine 
1180 Carbonized Bamboo
1136 Cocobolo
1010 American Walnut 
1000 Teak
950 American  Cherry 
950 Soft and Ambrosia Maple
910 Paper Birch
900 Cedar 
870 Southern Yellow Pine (Longleaf) 
860 American Red Elm
840 Lacewood
790 Cumaru
770 Sycamore
690 S.Yellow Pine (Loblolly & Shortleaf)
660 Douglas Fir
630 Sassafras
590 Larch
540 Chestnut
540 Poplar
500 Hemlock
420 White Pine 
410 Basswood
380 Eastern White Pine